Graduating Class of 2017 Awarded Record Setting Scholarships

Copper Hills High 2017 Graduating Class at CommencementStudents in the graduating class of 2017 are embarking on a new chapter in their young lives. Many are headed to colleges, universities and community colleges in Utah and across the United States. This year many of those graduates are also getting a little help along the way in the form of scholarships. In fact, District-wide the class of 2017 was awarded a record setting total of $28,888,084 in scholarships.

Thanks to our dedicated counselors and school leaders who helped students apply for and receive the scholarship money. Congratulations graduates! Good luck in all your pursuits!

Fun Fact Friday: JSD Gets Out of the Cemetery Business

For 45 years the Jordan School District has been in the cemetery business. The District was legally bound to take over maintenance and operations of the Bingham City Cemetery back in 1972 when Bingham Canyon City disincorporated. JSD inherited the cemetery because the District was the largest taxing entity in the area where the cemetery is located. Over the years, records show 1,850 people have been buried in the cemetery and JSD grounds crews were responsible for digging the graves, maintaining the plots and the cemetery in general. Several District employees also had the title of cemetery sexton or caretaker of the cemetery, selling plots and helping families with burials.

Effective June 1, 2017 the District will be out of the cemetery business. The Board of Education has approved a resolution that will transfer the Bingham Cemetery Title and Escrow to the Copperton Metro Township.

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Schools Transition to Traditional Calendar

Picture of new elementary schoolDue to the opening of two new elementary schools, shifting populations and enrollment, seven District elementary schools will be transitioning to a traditional calendar for the 2017-18 school year. This change will affect about 6,830 students in these schools. The new school year will begin in August for all traditional calendar schools. The following are schools transitioning from year-round to traditional:

  • Daybreak Elementary
  • Eastlake Elementary
  • Elk Meadows Elementary
  • Midas Creek Elementary
  • Monte Vista Elementary
  • Silver Crest Elementary
  • Welby Elementary

The District’s two new elementary schools, Bastian and Golden Fields, will also open on a traditional calendar in August.

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Changes On The Way for West Jordan High School

Construction site in front of West Jordan HighIf you have stopped or driven by West Jordan High lately you know something big has begun with construction crews already hard at work outside. It is a renovation project that will move the main office to the front of the school for safety and efficiency and convert the old office space to classrooms. All of the old ceiling tiles are being torn out and replaced and new LED lighting is being installed throughout the school. Crews will have 10 weeks over the summer break to complete the project.

In addition, outside the school you will see a football field upgrade with the installation of artificial turf. This is also happening to football fields at Bingham, Riverton and Copper Hills High Schools. All of the fields will have lacrosse lines installed to accommodate girls and boys lacrosse which is now a UHSAA sanctioned sport beginning in the 2019-20 school year.

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Breaking Ground for New West Jordan Middle School

Groundbreaking InvitationThere is a lot of work and precise planning to be done in order to construct a new West Jordan Middle School on site behind the old school and have the doors open for the 2019-20 school year. The site work has already begun with contractors digging trenches for electrical lines and safety fences going up around the field where the new school will be built.

On Monday, May 1st the entire community is invited to a groundbreaking ceremony to mark the beginning of construction and paving the way for the brand new school. This is an historical groundbreaking because 58 years ago to the day, the school was dedicated and began a legacy of education and community pride that will grow with opening of the new school.