Calendars




All files posted in PDF format


Ever Wonder Why The Calendar Isn’t Always Perfect?
A committee of approximately 28 individuals work together to create 3 years’ worth of calendars for Jordan School District. A calendar is only submitted to the Board of Education after the Committee has worked on it for 3 years. Committee members include parents from every area and level of the District representing elementary, middle and high, teachers from every level who work in a year round and traditional setting, classified employees, and certificated employees with employee group representation, and administration from the school and District level.

This Committee works together to navigate through the following laws and policies that govern how a calendar is developed within any given year:

  1. Utah State Board Rule – Traditional: R277-419-4
    LEAs shall conduct school for at least 990 instructional hours and 180 school days each school year.
  2. Utah State Board Rule – Year-Round: R277-419-8
    A school using a modified 45 day 15 day year round schedule initiated prior to July 1, 1995 shall be considered to be in compliance with this rule if a school’s schedule includes a minimum of 990 hours of instruction time in a minimum of 172 days.
  3. District Policy D207 – Calendar Development
    1. The year-round school and traditional calendars will be developed according to the following guidelines:
      1. Each fall, three school calendars shall be presented to the Board of Education—final calendar for the coming school year, and tentative calendars for the next two successive years.
      2. Student attendance days will not be scheduled between Independence Day and Pioneer Day on the modified 45-15 year-round school calendar.
      3. Dates for beginning and ending the traditional school year shall be determined in relationship to Labor Day and Memorial Day.
      4. Labor Day and Memorial Day will be a school recess days.
      5. There will be a two (2)-day Fall Recess scheduled in October.
      6. Thanksgiving Recess shall be two (2) days, Thanksgiving Day (Thursday) and Friday, and may include Wednesday before Thanksgiving, when possible.
      7. A Winter Recess shall be scheduled and will include December 25 and January 1 as recess days.
      8. Martin Luther King Jr. Day will be a school recess day.
      9. Washington and Lincoln Day will be a school recess day unless a school closure necessitates scheduling a make-up day on Washington and Lincoln Day. Washington and Lincoln Day will be the first make-up day scheduled, followed by Spring Recess days, if necessary.
      10. Spring Recess in year-round schools will be a minimum of one (1) day—and three (3) days, when possible, including Good Friday, unless school closures necessitate scheduling more than one make-up day or a school closure occurs after Washington and Lincoln Day. Spring Recess in traditional schools will be three (3) days including Good Friday unless school closures necessitate scheduling more than one make-up day or a school closure occurs after Washington and Lincoln Day.
      11. Grade Transmittal Days
        (1) Year-round elementary schools will schedule grade transmittal days to support track changes.
        (2) Grade transmittal days in traditional schools will be the first school day after each quarter ends for the first three quarters of the school year.
      12. Where possible, the minimum week will be three days or more.
      13. Parent-Teacher Conferences will be scheduled as follows:
        (1) The dates for Parent-Teacher Conferences will be scheduled by each year-round elementary school within the timeframe determined by the Year-round Committee.
        (2) Traditional elementary school conferences will be scheduled mid-November and mid-March on dates determined by the District Calendar Committee.
        (3) Secondary school conferences will be scheduled mid-first quarter and mid-third quarter on dates determined by the District Calendar Committee.
        (4) The Friday following Parent-Teacher Conferences will be a non-work day in traditional schools.
      14. Emergency closure days:
        (1) Emergency closures in year-round schools will be made up first on Washington and Lincoln Day and next during Spring Recess, and finally at the end of the school year.
        (2) Emergency closures in traditional schools will be made up first on Washington and Lincoln Day and next during Spring Recess.
        (3) Make-up days for emergency closures occurring after Spring Recess shall be scheduled on an individual school basis.
    2. School calendar approval will occur in the fall each year.

Challenging Calendar Years
This same calendar configuration repeats as follows:

    • 2014-15 (eleven years later)
    • 2025-26 (eleven years later)
    • 2036-37 (six years later)
    • 2042-43 (eleven years later)

    • 2053-54 (eleven years later)
    • 2064-65 (six years later)
    • 2070-71 (eleven years later)
    • 2081-82 (eleven years later)


  • Possible Solutions to the difficult calendar years:
  • Start the school year on Friday, July 25
  • Work December 24th
  • Return from Winter Recess on Friday, January 2

Calendar Development Considerations
The traditional and year-round calendars are developed in compliance with Policy D207.

In addition to the policy, there are many requests received through the educational community that the committee considers. It is impossible to meet all requests and comply with policy, however, the committee works to accommodate as many as possible. Listed below are some examples of requests the committee considers:

  • Don’t start school too early in the fall because of lack of air conditioning in some schools.
  • Don’t go too late into June because it has an adverse effect on summer employment and vacations; also, because of lack of air conditioning.
  • Consider starting earlier for traditional schools to help the AP programs in the secondary schools. The national exams have been set earlier in May the last few years which necessitates having as much time to prepare for the exams as possible.
  • Start school after Labor Day and end before Memorial Day.
  • Try to avoid scheduling parent/teacher conferences on Jewish Holy Days and on Ash Wednesday (beginning of Lent).
  • Don’t schedule secondary parent/teacher conferences too early in the fall. This can be a problem especially with high schools on the block schedule.
  • Don’t schedule elementary/middle and high parentteacher conferences on the same weeks.
  • Driver Education teachers have asked that there be no fewer than 43 days in any quarter.
  • Try to schedule the same number of days in each semester, if possible.
  • Try to avoid any midweek track changes in yearround school.
  • Try to end all yearround tracks on Fridays.
  • Don’t schedule “B” track offtrack more than 3 weeks prior to Winter Recess.
  • Don’t schedule “A” track offtrack more than 3 weeks following Winter Recess.
  • Try to schedule all offtrack times for three weeks.
  • Try to avoid starting yearround school until at least July 26th.
  • Try to schedule Winter Recess and Spring Recess the same days in yearround and traditional calendars.
  • Try to give traditional schools a longer Winter Recess and a longer Spring Recess.
  • Try to schedule all Grade Transmittal days on Fridays.

Calendar Committee Information

 Name   Position E-mail
Michael Anderson Administrator of Schools, Riverton Feeder Area michael.anderson[at]jordandistrict.org
Teri Timpson Administrator of Schools, West Jordan Feeder Area teri.timpson[at]jordandistrict.org
Luann Leavitt Planning and Student Services luann.leavitt[at]jordandistrict.org
Shelly Axtell Administrative Assistant, Student Services shelly.axtell[at]jordandistrict.org
Herb Jensen Director of Transportation herb.jensen[at]jordandistrict.org
Sarah Palmer Director of Payroll sarah.palmer[at]jordandistrict.org
Beverly Griffith JEA Representative, Curriculum beverly.griffith[at]jordandistrict.org
Cathy Anderson Administrative Representative, Elem. – YRE (Jordan Ridge) catherine.anderson[at]jordandistrict.org
Jennifer Ludlow Administrative Representative, Elem. – Traditional (Terra Linda) jennifer.ludlow[at]jordandistrict.org
Mike Glenn Administrative Representative, Middle School (Oquirrh Hills) michael.glenn[at]jordandistrict.org
Richard Price Administrative Representative, High School (Herriman High) richard.price[at]jordandistrict.org
Kathy Bekkemellom JEA Representative, South Hills Middle School kathy.bekkemellom[at]jordandistrict.org
Jack Duffy JEA Representative, High School (West Jordan High) jack.duffy[at]jordandistrict.org
Michelle Olsen JEA Representative, Elem. – YRE (Butterfield Canyon) michelle.olsen[at]jordandistrict.org
Tammy Horger JESPA Representative, Nutrition Services tammy.horger[at]jordandistrict.org
Roxane Siggard JESPA Representative, Administrative Secretary roxane.siggard[at]jordandistrict org.
Janet Tufts JESPA Representative, West Jordan Middle, Nutrition Mgr. janet.tufts[at]jordandistrict.org
Corey Fairholm Parent Representative, Bingham Feeder Area coreyfairholm[at]comcast.net
Hollie Sprunt Parent Representative, Bingham Feeder Area holliesprunt[at]msn.com
Tiffany Carlino Parent Representative, Copper Hills Feeder Area tiffanycarlino[at]live.com
Lisa Price Parent Representative, Copper Hills Feeder Area rightprice1[at]msn.com
Zakia Richardson Parent Representative, Herriman Feeder Area amira116[at]msn.com
Julie Thomson Parent Representative, Herriman Feeder Area juliewthomson[at]hotmail.com
Marvelle Morgan Parent Representative, Riverton Feeder Area kevinandmarvelle[at]yahoo.com
Cheryl Steffes Parent Representative, Riverton Feeder Area cheryl.steffes[at]jordandistrict.org
Lucinda Webb Parent Representative, West Jordan Feeder Area lucindawebb11[at]gmail.com
Shellie Young Parent Representative, West Jordan Feeder Area markcubs18[at]hotmail.com

For more information, please contact Planning & Student Services