Feb 23, 2016 Board Meeting Summary

Celebrating West Hills Middle School
Amber Potts, Student Body Officer, said the values instilled in students at West Hills Middle make the school unique. There is a climate of tolerance and social responsibility. She said teachers are always ready and willing to help students find a path to success with many programs in place to help struggling students. West Hills students hand out ‘Kindness Cards’ to give uplifting messages to those who need them and Wildcat PRIDE creates a safe environment for learning at the school.

Sara Andreason Holt, a District literacy specialist, was recognized for re-certifying as a National Board Certified Teacher.

Superintendent’s Report
Dr. Patrice A. Johnson, Superintendent of Schools, shared with the Board ‘Applause’ submissions and stories recognizing District employees who have gone “above and beyond” in their duties. She applauded bus driver Steve Chipman, custodian Joshua Bush and Joel P. Jensen Principal Bryan Leggat for the work they do every day in making a difference in the lives of young people.

Sandy Riesgraf, Director of Communications, gave an overview of the Semi-Annual Report, which is being mailed to more than 76,000 households and distributed to all employees in the District. The report outlines the draft 5-Year Construction Plan, which was developed in collaboration with our cities, cites Jordan School District’s lowest voter approved debt per student, identifies schools throughout the District with the highest enrollments in Utah and highlights Board accomplishments, among other information items.

  • Patron Comments
  • Amee Rock, a parent, thanked the Board for investing in the Chinese Dual Immersion program at Monte Vista Elementary and for providing support needed for the program to continue.
  • Laurel Dalton, a student, said she is grateful for the Chinese Dual Immersion program at Monte Vista Elementary.
  • Michael Vierra, a teacher, thanked the Board for supporting the Chinese Dual Immersion program at Monte Vista Elementary. He asked that the Board consider making class sizes smaller.
  • Board Comments
  • Lynn Crane attended the Herriman High play, which he said was a great display of musical and acting talent.
  • Kayleen Whitelock thanked the District’s Area Administrators of Schools for the work they do every day. She also thanked local legislators for their work on education issues this session and expressed appreciation for parents who participate in School Community Councils. Mrs. Whitelock attended Elk Ridge Middle School’s production of “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat,” which she said was amazing.
  • Susan Pulsipher said the Legislative Committee has been very busy during the legislative session. She said members have testified on several bills the District has played a part in drafting. Mrs. Pulsipher thanked Mike Anderson for his work at the state legislature and for being an effective advocate for Jordan School District.
  • Richard Osborn attended the Middle School Honors Concert. He said the student musicians did a phenomenal job.
  • Janice Voorhies also attended the Middle School Honors Concert. She said it is great to see the amazing talent and student representatives from every middle school taking part in the program.
  • Jen Atwood attended Copper Mountain Middle School’s performance of “Mary Poppins.” She said the students did a fantastic job and thanked everyone who put so much time and dedication into the performance.
  • Matthew Young reported that he is preparing to meet with the Charter School Relations Committee.

Closed, Study Session
In closed session, Board members discussed personnel, property, potential litigation, and negotiations. In open session, the Board members were given an update on progress toward a 2016 bond election. They also reviewed the administrative policy AA417 Fund Raising, and received an update on Dual Immersion and education bills currently being debated in the Utah Legislature.

– Sandy Riesgraf, Director of Communications

Board of Education
Susan Pulsipher, President – Precinct 3
Janice L. Voorhies, Vice President – Precinct 6
Kayleen Whitelock, Secretary – Precinct 4
Jen Atwood, Member – Precinct 7
J. Lynn Crane, Member – Precinct 1
Richard S. Osborn, Member – Precinct 5
Matthew Young, Member – Precinct 2