June 14, 2016 Board Meeting Summary

Budget Hearing for 2016-17 School Year
Business Administrator John Larsen presented the proposed 2016-17 budget of $498.7 million to the Board of Education during the District’s annual budget hearing. The Board adopted the 2015-16 final amended budget and the 2016-17 proposed budget. The Board authorized any budget adjustments necessary to reflect funds received from the Certified Tax Rate.

Dr. Johnson thanked Board members for their diligent work in making employees a top priority. She commended Mr. Larsen, his staff and Mr. Young for their outstanding work in preparing the budget.

Mr. Larsen summarized four main points of the 2016-17 budget which were: 1) JSD has a balanced budget; 2) there was no tax increase; 3) there was no increase in class size (exception for the new modified traditional schedule in the middle of the day); and 4) that negotiated agreements with employees had been fulfilled. Mr. Larsen then reviewed the following aspects of the 2016-17 proposed budget:

WPU: The Utah State Legislature increased the weighted pupil unit (WPU) value from $3,092 to $3,184 (a $92 increase). The Board will spend a projected $6,274 per pupil next year.
  • Enrollment: Student enrollment is projected at 53,751, an increase of 1,427 students.
  • Assessed Valuation: The District’s assessed valuation is projected at $17.6 billion in 2016 -17, an increase from $17.4 billion in 2015 -16.
• Employee Compensation: The budget includes employee compensation increases. Overall, the District saw no increase in insurance premiums.
  • New Schools: Jordan School District is building two new elementary schools with capital reserves. A new elementary is being built on approximately 10 acres in Daybreak’s Creekside Development. Another is located in Herriman on 12 acres in a development one block south of Copper Mountain Middle School. The goal is to have the schools open for the 2017-18 school year.
  • School Schedules: Three elementary schools are going from year-round to a traditional schedule: Bluffdale, Falcon Ridge and Rose Creek. Two schools will be on a modified traditional schedule: Bluffdale and Riverside Elementary Schools.

Recommendation to Approve the Tentative Negotiated Agreement for Classified Employees
The Board approved tentative negotiated agreement for classified employees.

Administrative Appointments
Steven Peart, has been appointed Director of Custodial and Energy Services, replacing Duane Devey who is retiring.

  • Recognitions
    Brad Sorensen, Administrator of Schools, recognized the following as Military Academy appointees:
  • Bingham High School
    • Ethan Erickson – Air Force Academy (Football)
    • Parker Workman – Air Force Academy (Football)
    • Adam Haynes – Air Force Academy (Track, Cross Country)
    • Christian Swensen – Air Force Academy (Wrestling)
  • Herriman High School
    • Christian Schur – Naval Academy (Nuclear Physicist Program)
  • Riverton High School
    • Simeon Page – Air Force Academy (Football)

Superintendent’s Report
Dr. Patrice Johnson, Superintendent of School, recognized the District’s number one resource as employees who work so hard and get things done. She thanked Duane Devey for his service to the District. She said this year’s graduation ceremonies were great and reported that the Class of 2016 received a total of over $28.5 million in scholarships. She also said this year’s ACT scores are the highest they have been in five years.

  • Patron Comments
  • Jennifer Boehme, JEA President, said she has learned a lot in her time as president of JEA. She said the organization protects due process and rights of teachers and strives to have effective educators in every classroom. She said good things happen when people come together with mutual respect and support for one another.
  • Kellie Freestone, a parent, said she is excited about the bond proposal this time around and expressed hope that it will free up money for capital improvements at Copper Hills High School.
  • Darin Furnell, Copper Hills High Community Council, asked the Board to consider improvements at Copper Hills High for the health and safety and their educational experience.
  • Steve Fifield, Copper Hills High Community Council, said he is eager to support growth in the District, including the proposed bond. However, he asked the Board to address urgent needs at Copper Hills High including outdoor restrooms and storage facilities, an expanded weight room, updated science, auto shop and theater classrooms and more parking.
  • Alishia Huefner also asked the Board to consider capital improvements at Copper Hills High.
  • Tyson Eyre said the weight room at Copper Hills High is overcrowded and needs attention.
  • Judy Binns said the proposed bond will have a big impact in the District and that information about the bond is easy to find.

Student Appeal
The Board voted to uphold the hearing panel’s decision regarding the student appeal.

  • Board Comments
  • Matthew Young reported on the Charter Relations Advisory Committee. He said there has been an amazing opportunity presented to partner with Real Salt Lake to create a STEM charter high school in Herriman.
  • Kayleen Whitelock said the Facilities Committee continues to review architectural plans and costs for new middle and high school construction.
  • Susan Pulsipher asked the Board for suggestions on legislative priorities to share with the Joint Legislative Committee.
  • Richard Osborn congratulated District spring athletic teams for their performances in state tournaments. He reported that 91 schools statewide received stars for sportsmanship from the USHAA and Bingham, Copper Hills, Riverton and West Jordan High were among them.

Closed, Study Session
In closed session, Board members discussed personnel, property, potential litigation, a student appeal and negotiations. In open session, the Board reviewed bus advertising, parent engagement and discussed the Licensed Employee Compensation Task Force. The Board also discussed the process for administrative appointments and received an update on progress toward the 2016 bond election.

– Sandy Riesgraf, Director of Communications

Board of Education
Susan Pulsipher, President – Precinct 3
Janice L. Voorhies, Vice President – Precinct 6
Kayleen Whitelock, Secretary – Precinct 4
Jen Atwood, Member – Precinct 7
J. Lynn Crane, Member – Precinct 1
Richard S. Osborn, Member – Precinct 5
Matthew Young, Member – Precinct 2