March 28, 2017 Board Meeting Summary

Celebrating JATC South
Shelby Jackson, JATC South ambassador and student representative, said students look forward to coming to the JATC South every day because it is such a welcoming place where teachers and staff treat students as the adults they are about to become. She said JATC programs provide many leadership opportunities and school ambassadors meet on a regular basis to encourage everyone to take advantage of the opportunities that are offered. Shelby said a number of diverse courses provide students with certification in their chosen field and programs like Landscape Management allow students to get involved with the community and grow food that is actually used in school cafeterias throughout the District.

Recommendation to Approve Name for New Elementary School in South Jordan
After surveying and collecting input from parents, community members and elected officials, Bryce Dunford announced the name for the new elementary school in South Jordan will be Golden Fields Elementary School. The Board voted to approve the name.

  • Recognitions
    PTA Region 6 PTA President, Dawn Ramsey, announced the 2017 Region 6 PTA Award winners:
  • Outstanding Educator of the Year
    • Kimberly Sanders – Jordan Ridge Elementary
    • Jill Firkins – Copper Canyon Elementary
    • Lucas Charon – Joel P. Jensen Middle
    • Bethany Alston – South Hills Middle
    • Jason Weimer – Riverton High School
    • Alyssa Topham – Herriman High School
  • Outstanding Administrator of the Year
    • Catherine Anderson – Jordan Ridge Elementary
    • Ben Jameson – South Hills Middle
    • Bryan Leggat – Joel P. Jensen Middle
    • David Tilby – Herriman High School
  • Outstanding Volunteer of the Year
    • Sonja Delaney – Jordan Ridge Elementary
    • Jana Bailey – Joel P. Jensen
  • Spirit of PTA Award
    • Michelle Spens – Jordan Ridge Elementary

Board Recognition
State House Representative, Susan Pulsipher was recognized by the Board for her service and dedication to Jordan School District as former Board of Education president and a former Board member.

Superintendent’s Report
Dr. Patrice A. Johnson, Superintendent of Schools, thanked Region 6 PTA President Dawn Ramsey for her work on the 2017 PTA awards and said our schools could not accomplish all they do without the rich support of PTA volunteers. She said one of the highlights of each year is joining the Jordan Education Foundation Prize Patrol as they travel from school to school to recognize Outstanding Educators of the Year and celebrating the JEF Principal of the Year, which for 2017, is Southland Elementary’s Michele Daly. Superintendent Johnson told the Board new state mandated kindergarten assessments will soon be required. She said it is an effort to assess the readiness of children entering kindergarten in schools throughout the state. In addition, the Superintendent said she had a wonderful time attending the recent NSBA conference with Board members and appreciated the excellent professional development opportunities.

  • Patron Comments
  • Casie Kelleher and Ryan Nelson, parents and club sport volunteers, asked the Board to consider giving club sports more support and recognition in District high schools. They said whether it is a club or UHSAA sanctioned sport, student athletes work hard and take pride in their accomplishments and that should be recognized.
  • Karl McKenzie, teacher, thanked the Board for efforts in addressing teacher compensation saying what they are doing is a step in the right direction. He said it has been a good experience working with Board leadership.
  • Rebecca Barnum, parent, asked that LGBTQ Safe Spaces signs be allowed in the halls at Herriman High School. She said students need to know they have a safe place to turn if they are feeling alone or depressed.
  • Calvin Fors, union carpenter, suggested the Board consider using licensed contractors that offer students in the District support in the form of apprentices and internships. He said it is a great way to give students a head start on their careers and to get paid.

Elected Official Comments
State Representative, Susan Pulsipher, thanked the Board for recognizing her years of service to Jordan School District. She added that the legislative session was fantastic thanks in large part to the input from school boards and educators from around the state.

  • Board Comments
  • Janice Voorhies attended the West Jordan Middle choir concert, which she described as lovely and enjoyable.
  • Jen Atwood reported that the Facilities Committee met with South Jordan City and Daybreak to talk about integration of the new elementary and high school in the community. She said she appreciates the relationship the District has with cities as strong community partners.
  • Marilyn Richards told the Board that the UHSAA has put the transfer rule on hold for now and on May 4, they will discuss the possibility of lacrosse becoming a UHSAA sanctioned sport.
  • Bryce Dunford congratulated the Bingham boys basketball team for their State Championship win and Copper Hills High for their State Championship in debate.
  • Darrell Robinson attended the Midas Creek Elementary production of “Don’t Say No to the USO” which he said was a top-notch play. He asked the Board to have a future discussion about how to help elementary schools finance musicals. He said the School Community Council Committee is looking at forming a ‘Safety First’ Committee to get parents involved in school safety at the grass roots level.
  • Tracy Miller said it is an honor for Oquirrh Hills Middle to host the Governor for signing of the public education bill. She expressed appreciation to teachers and local lawmakers for their input on shaping legislation during the 2017 legislative session.

Closed, Study Session
In closed session, Board members discussed negotiations. In open session, the Board reviewed Governance Policies and an accelerated policy review schedule along with Administrative Policy AA443 Student Clubs. They discussed a camps and clinics audit report update and reviewed 2017-18 school start and end times. The Board also discussed the possible locations for a new middle school.

– Sandy Riesgraf, Director of Communications

Board of Education
Janice L. Voorhies, President – Precinct 6
Matthew Young, Vice President – Precinct 2
Jen Atwood, Secretary – Precinct 7
Bryce Dunford, Member – Precinct 5
Tracy J. Miller, Member – Precinct 3
Marilyn Richards, Member – Precinct 4
Darrell Robinson, Member – Precinct 1