April 25, 2017 Board Meeting Summary

Celebrating West Jordan Middle School
Isaac Atwood, 9th Grade Student Body President, said students love West Jordan Middle School for a variety of reasons and are proud of the academic successes they achieve each year. He said WJMS has been a National School to Watch for two years and has taken 2nd place in the statewide “We The People” competition eight times. He said the Platinum Pride Time is helping students who are struggling and helps them recover credits.

Megan Ballard, 8th Grade Student Body President, said Fine Arts is alive and well with a strong participation in choir, band, drama and art which helps showcase diversity at the school.

Grace Ivers, 7th Grade Student Body President, told the Board that service projects are an important part of the culture at WJMS. She said the annual holiday food drive was a success collecting 1,000 pounds of food for those in need.
The students thanked the Board for supporting the 2016 bond and invited everyone to a May 1 groundbreaking for their new school.

  • Recognitions
    Dawn Ramsey, Region 6 PTA President, announced 2017 Reflections State Awards from Jordan School District:
  • Award of Excellence:
    • Anna Warren – Literature – Riverton Elementary
    • Jessica Wang – Visual Arts 2D – South Jordan
  • Award of Merit:
    • Kaidence Vance – Dance Choreography – Oakcrest Elementary
    • Reagan Hunt – Dance Choreography – Copper Mountain
    • Kelsey Perkins – Literature – Herriman High School
    • Nathan Hardey – Music Composition – Copper Hills High School
    • Kimball Mueller – Visual Arts 2D – South Jordan Middle
    • Alexandra Kirkland – Visual Arts 3D – South Hills
  • Honorable Mentions:
    • Lindsey Driggs – Dance Choreography – South Jordan Middle
    • Tanner Simpson – Music Composition – Elk Ridge Middle
    • Mickaela Curtis – Music Composition – Riverton High School
    • Molly Scott – Visual Arts 2D – Elk Meadows
    • Hunter Gledhill – Visual Arts 2D – Riverton Elementary
    • Anette Ford – Visual Arts 2D – Bingham High School
    • Kailey Black – Visual Arts 2D – Riverton High School
    • Rylee Jenkins – Visual Arts 2D – Riverton High School

Elected Official Comments
State Representative, Susan Pulsipher, said it was an honor to attend a meeting where the vision of so many past and present Board members for a new teacher salary schedule would become reality. She added that teachers are amazing and key to our future.

Recommendation to Approve 2017-18 Negotiated Agreement for Licensed Employees
The Board approved a new negotiated compensation agreement with teachers.

  • Public Input
  • Vicki Olsen, JEA President, wanted to thank the Board on behalf of teachers, for their collaborative efforts in reaching an agreement on the new negotiated teacher salary schedule.
  • Amy Williams, teacher, said she was representing several Copper Hills High School educators concerned about the compensation package for teachers with a Masters degree.
  • Richard Osborn, former teacher and Board member, thanked the current Board for seeing the new salary schedule through to ratification. He said it is extremely important to properly educate every child in the community and he would be willing to pay higher taxes to adequately compensate teachers in the future.

Budget Hearing
The Board approved an amended budget for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

Superintendent’s Report
Dr. Patrice A. Johnson, Superintendent of Schools, applauded West Jordan Middle School Counselor Mark Jones for receiving the STEM Action Center’s STEM Counselor of the Year award.

She congratulated Herriman High student Trevor Daley for being the recipient of three scholarships at a recent Unified Police Department awards luncheon. The Superintendent said a District STEM Night at Elk Ridge Middle was a huge success with more than 300 people attending. She also thanked staff for the hard work that they do each and every day.

Norm Emerson, Fine Arts Consultant, said in Fine Arts they are trying to provide a high level experience for every child, every day throughout the District. One example is in the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Arts learning programs, which by next year will be in every elementary school. He said the Jordan Youth Symphony is going strong and represents the District in concerts throughout the community and high school students have the opportunity to participate in an Honors Concert each year. He said drama productions in our middle and high schools are top notch and visual arts programs have students competing and achieving at very high levels. Mr. Emerson thanked the Board for supporting the Arts in JSD.

  • Board Comments
  • Janice Voorhies attended the Kauri Sue Hamilton School musical, which she said was an amazing performance.
  • Jen Atwood invited everyone to the West Jordan Middle School groundbreaking celebration on Monday, May 1st, at 4 p.m. She said the Facilities Committee continues to work with Daybreak on a Master Plan.
  • Darrell Robinson said he did his own version of Undercover Boss at Herriman High School where he participated in a variety of jobs to get to know employees and the hard work they do every day. He said it was an opportunity to see first-hand the great employees that work in the District.
  • Marilyn Richards attended the Kauri Sue Hamilton School musical, which she said was great. She added that the productions says so much about the very special school.
  • Bryce Dunford attended Welby Elementary’s production of Peter Pan, which he described as just delightful. He wanted to honor the PTA and faculty who sacrifice so much for the plays. He said the Finance Committee will be asking the Board to commit to a budget very soon.

Closed, Study Session
In closed session, Board members discussed personnel, property and negotiations. In open session, the Board discussed foundational information for a student achievement strategic plan to include updated information on school grading and the Board’s position on sanctioning lacrosse as a team sport for Utah schools. They received an Insurance Advisory Committee report and discussed amended budgets.

– Sandy Riesgraf, Director of Communications

Board of Education
Janice L. Voorhies, President – Precinct 6
Matthew Young, Vice President – Precinct 2
Jen Atwood, Secretary – Precinct 7
Bryce Dunford, Member – Precinct 5
Tracy J. Miller, Member – Precinct 3
Marilyn Richards, Member – Precinct 4
Darrell Robinson, Member – Precinct 1