FUN FACT FRIDAY: Riverton High Principal is Huntsman Excellence in Education Award Winner

Principal Carolyn Gough poses with her parents.
Congratulations to Riverton High School Principal Carolyn Gough who is a proud recipient of the prestigious Huntsman Excellence in Education Award. Karen Huntsman and Jennifer Huntsman Parkin, along with teachers, staff and District Administrators surprised Ms. Gough with the award this morning. Carolyn’s parents were also on hand for the surprise.

Colleagues responsible for the nomination say Carolyn Gough motivates teachers to improve their teaching practices, content knowledge and student interaction in order to be the best educators possible. They say her priority is student learning with a focus on student well-being – Ms. Gough is present in her school constantly visiting classrooms, attending after-school activities, being involved in student assemblies, with a focus on taking care of all students.

The Huntsman Excellence in Education Awards were established to reward bright and capable individuals working in Utah’s public schools. By celebrating these individuals, the awards seek to inspire current educators and to rekindle interest in the teaching profession among young people.

Eleven winners are selected each year in recognition of their outstanding contributions to Utah’s public school system and each receives $10,000, donated by the Huntsman family.

Thank you, Carolyn Gough, for your hard work and dedication to Riverton High School, the education of ‘Every Child, Every Day’ and Jordan School District.

We are grateful to the Huntsman family for their commitment to honoring outstanding educators!

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Current Tax Rate Comparison

Did you know that different school districts levy different rates for taxes? A school district’s tax levy is significantly impacted by the commercial tax base within its boundaries – the more businesses, the more money coming into a school district. Districts with a strong established commercial tax base can levy a much lower tax rate. For the past several years, Jordan’s tax rate has been below the state average.

Ogden 0.008041 Granite 0.007822 Davis 0.007701 Average 0.007064 Alpine 0.007033 Canyons 0.006995 Jordan 0.006501 Weber 0.006307 Murray 0.005885 Salt Lake 0.005500

FUN FACT FRIDAY: PTA Reflections Award Winners Announced

Board members congratulating winnersEvery year students throughout Jordan School District remind us that their talents are endless and amazing. Those talents shine brightly in the PTA Reflections competition. This year, PTA Region 6 Director, Christy Lane, says JSD was well represented in the State finals with 63 students competing. A total of 23 JSD students won awards in the State competition.

The State winners were recognized this week at the monthly Board of Education meeting.

Congratulations to the following winners:

  • Dance:
    • Merit: Jaclyn McDonald, Eastlake Elementary School
    • Honorable Mention: Melissa Burningham, Herriman High School
  • Film:
    • Merit: Grahm Molloy, Herriman High School
    • Merit: Savannah Navarro, West Jordan Middle School
    • Honorable Mention: Mailee Edwards, South Hills Middle School
  • Literature:
    • Honorable Mention: Abigail Dewsnup, Herriman High School
    • Honorable Mention: Owen Vanden Akker, Westland Elementary School
    • Honorable Mention: Evi Bateman, Fox Hollow Elementary School
    • Honorable Mention: Bridger Pedroza, Welby Elementary School
  • Music:
    • Merit: Dexter Jack, Riverton Elementary School
    • Merit: Samantha Faux, South Hills Middle School
    • Merit: Katelyn Riddle, Sunset Ridge Middle School
    • Honorable Mention: Addison Pack, Midas Creek Elementary School
  • Photography:
    • Merit: Elizza Brunner, Copper Canyon Elementary School
    • Merit: James Tucker, Rosamond Elementary School
    • Merit: Naomi Goldtooth, Hayden Peak Elementary School
  • 3D Visual Art:
    • Merit: Aubrey Jensen, Bingham High School
    • Merit: Trey Watson, Midas Creek Elementary School
    • Merit: Raylee Jensen, Riverton Elementary School
    • Merit: Mackenzie Rushton, Riverton Elementary School
  • 2D Visual Art:
    • Merit: Alaina Sapp, Riverton High School
    • Merit: Isabelle Ashton, Bingham High School
    • Honorable Mention: Esther Mueller, South Jordan Middle School

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Jordan Education Foundation Makes Surprise Stops to Award “Outstanding Educators of the Year!”

Picture celebrating Outstanding Educators of the YearThe Jordan Education Foundation, members of the Board of Education and Superintendent Johnson brought laughter, tears and many memorable moments as they made surprise stops at school after school recognizing 19 teachers and one principal with the JEF “Outstanding Educator of the Year,” awards.

The Foundation gave each recipient a $1,000 cash prize and an invitation to a special dinner to honor educators.

Here is a list of the 2019 JEF “Outstanding Educators of the Year.”

  • Joshua Brothers, Copper Hills High School
  • Erin Clelland, Sunset Ridge Middle School
  • Emma Cisneros, Fort Herriman Middle School
  • Melissa Lowry, Foothills Elementary School
  • Bego Rodriquez, Herriman Elementary School
  • Carol Ramsay, Silver Crest Elementary School
  • Michelle Poteki, Rose Creek Elementary School
  • Eric Noyes, South Hills Middle School
  • Natalie Smith, Kauri Sue Hamilton School
  • Mary Garcia, Southland Elementary School
  • Mallory Morrill, South Jordan Elementary School
  • Jennifer Robinson, Eastlake Elementary School
  • Haley McCall, Welby Elementary School
  • Anthony Martinez, Terra Linda Elementary School
  • Katlyn Jarvis, Columbia Elementary School
  • Andrea Breitling, Westland Elementary School
  • Melinda Fatani, Valley High School
  • Ronna Hoffman, Riverside Elementary School
  • Candice Pedersen, Riverton Elementary School

Congratulations to our amazing educators!