Jordan School District Teachers Win State Wide CTE Awards

Congratulations to two Jordan School District CTE teachers for winning state-wide awards at this year’s UTAH Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) conference. The awards highlight outstanding educators dedicated to furthering career and technical education programs.

JATC South’s Richard Clayton was awarded New Teacher of the Year for the State of Utah. The award recognizes teachers with 3-5 years of experience who have made significant contributions toward innovative and unique career and technical education programs and have shown a professional commitment early in their careers.

Mr. Clayton was recognized for being instrumental in collaborating with the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) to develop standardized “Strands and Standards” for Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs, with a specific focus on Emergency Medical Services (EMS). He has collaborated with another school district in Utah, helping them successfully launch a program mirroring his own. Mr. Clayton is also known for his engagement with parents, hosting induction ceremonies, and adopting innovative teaching methods, such as utilizing students to teach CPR classes to sophomores.

Bingham High School’s Pepper Poulsen was awarded Champion for CTE. This award recognizes education leaders, industry executives, celebrities, thought leaders, and other individuals who have significantly impacted the improvement and expansion of CTE programs.

Ms. Poulsen was recognized for her 26 years in career and Technical Education (CTE), holding roles such as CTE Teacher, Work-Based Learning Coordinator, Guidance Counselor, and CTE Coordinator. Her work includes the creation of the Entrepreneurship Academy in partnership with the Jordan Education Foundation, providing students with mentorship opportunities. Ms Poulsen has been involved with Utah ACTE for 26 years, with 21 years on the Executive Committee; she has also contributed nationally as the National Awards chair for ACTE and the Region V awards chair.

Congratulations to both of these outstanding educators and thank you for your dedication to students in Jordan School District. These awards are well deserved.