Jordan District Educators Receive Top 2019 UEA Teaching Honors

Join us in congratulating Riverton High School History teacher Laura Taylor and Valley High School Science teacher, Randall White – both are being recognized by the Utah Education Association as top teachers in the State of Utah.

Ms. Taylor and Mr. White are among 10 educators across the State selected as recipients of the UEA/doTerra “Excellence in Teaching” awards. UEA President Heidi Matthews says, “They are shining examples of the great work happening in our public schools each day.”

Laura Taylor was nominated in part because her classroom is a visual history book. It is said she engages her students in learning, analyzing, writing about and interpreting history. Ms. Taylor also teaches the school’s Peer Leadership Training (PLT) class.

Randall White is described as a “geek that likes to share his geekiness in ways that students understand.” Colleagues say anyone who sees Mr. White teach can tell he thinks its really cool to do a lab involving Oreos to teach the role chemistry plays combining cookies and milk. He has a curriculum that makes students willing to listen and to actively participate.

Jordan Education Foundation Brings Community Together to Honor Outstanding Educators and Students

Winners of Jordan Education Foundation's awards take a group photo. It was a night to remember for some amazing educators and students in Jordan School District as the Jordan Education Foundation, business leaders and members of the community came together to honor them.

Outstanding Educator of the Year awards were given to 18 teachers and one principal, recognizing the hard work and dedication of the deserving recipients.

Scholarships were also awarded to six students who have shown great strength, character and commitment to education and finding a path to graduation despite some challenging roadblocks along the way.

Congratulations to the following scholarship winners and Outstanding Educators of the Year.

  • Savanna Suess, Bingham High School
  • Mechelle Rodriguez, Copper Hills High School
  • Kyle Gabrielsen, Herriman High School
  • Taevian Carson, Riverton High School
  • Jonah Burton, Valley High School
  • Alex Luna, West Jordan High School

Outstanding Educators of the Year

  • Joshua Brothers, Copper Hills High School
  • Erin Clelland, Sunset Ridge Middle School
  • Emma Cisneros, Fort Herriman Middle School
  • Melissa Lowry, Foothills Elementary School
  • Bego Rodriquez, Herriman Elementary School
  • Carol Ramsay, Silver Crest Elementary School
  • Michelle Poteki, Rose Creek Elementary School
  • Eric Noyes, South Hills Middle School
  • Natalie Smith, Kauri Sue Hamilton School
  • Mary Garcia, Southland Elementary School
  • Mallory Morrill, South Jordan Elementary School
  • Jennifer Robinson, Eastlake Elementary School
  • Haley McCall, Welby Elementary School
  • Anthony Martinez, Terra Linda Elementary School
  • Katlyn Jarvis, Columbia Elementary School
  • Andrea Breitling, Westland Elementary School
  • Melinda Fatani, Valley High School
  • Candice Pedersen, Riverton Elementary School
  • Ronna Hoffman, Riverside Elementary School

FUN FACT FRIDAY: Riverton High Principal is Huntsman Excellence in Education Award Winner

Principal Carolyn Gough poses with her parents.
Congratulations to Riverton High School Principal Carolyn Gough who is a proud recipient of the prestigious Huntsman Excellence in Education Award. Karen Huntsman and Jennifer Huntsman Parkin, along with teachers, staff and District Administrators surprised Ms. Gough with the award this morning. Carolyn’s parents were also on hand for the surprise.

Colleagues responsible for the nomination say Carolyn Gough motivates teachers to improve their teaching practices, content knowledge and student interaction in order to be the best educators possible. They say her priority is student learning with a focus on student well-being – Ms. Gough is present in her school constantly visiting classrooms, attending after-school activities, being involved in student assemblies, with a focus on taking care of all students.

The Huntsman Excellence in Education Awards were established to reward bright and capable individuals working in Utah’s public schools. By celebrating these individuals, the awards seek to inspire current educators and to rekindle interest in the teaching profession among young people.

Eleven winners are selected each year in recognition of their outstanding contributions to Utah’s public school system and each receives $10,000, donated by the Huntsman family.

Thank you, Carolyn Gough, for your hard work and dedication to Riverton High School, the education of ‘Every Child, Every Day’ and Jordan School District.

We are grateful to the Huntsman family for their commitment to honoring outstanding educators!

JATC South Web Design Program Big Winner in National Information Technology Competition

Picture of award winnersIt is a prestigious competition involving students from around the country and this year four of the winners are in the Web Design Program at JATC South. The students and their instructor, Melinda Mansouri, walked away with significant recognitions in the National Center for Women & Information Technology AiC awards. The Aspirations in Computing awards honor young women in grades 9 through 12 who are active and interested in computing and technology, encouraging them to pursue their passions. AiC recipients are chosen for their demonstrated interest and achievements in computing, proven leadership ability, academic performance, and plans for post‑secondary education. To date, more than 12,000 women have been honored with the National Award for AiC.

The following are this year’s State winners in Web Design Program at JATC South:

  • Estela Newton – State Winner, Herriman High School
  • Madi Katwyk – State Runner-up, Bingham High School
  • Tea Flores – Certificate of Distinction Award, Herriman High School
  • Melinda Mansouri- Educator Award Winner

Congratulations on your impressive accomplishments!

Oquirrh Hills Middle Teachers Recognized as Best Teaching Team in State

Picture of 'Almost Hogwarts' teaching teamTheir ability to collaborate and work well together has influenced the entire culture in a positive way at Oquirrh Hills Middle School. That is just one reason why the school’s 7th grade language arts team was recently honored as ‘Collaborative Team of the Year,’ by the Utah Middle Level Association (UMLA).

Principal Donna Hunter says Jade Weinheimer, Sarah Strachan, Kimberly Stewart, Julie Chamberlain and Becca Marrott join forces in a well-functioning and fun PLC team. She says they have a Harry Potter theme and call themselves “Almost Hogwarts,” with a goal of finding ways to make learning fun for everyone.

Congratulations and keep up the great work!