Eastlake Students Have Fun Celebrating Start of the New Lunar Year

Students performing the "Dragon Dance"It was a colorful celebration from classroom to classroom as students at Eastlake Elementary School celebrated the start of the New Lunar Year which begins on February 12. This is the Year of the Ox, an animal that symbolizes diligence, determination and honesty in Chinese culture.

Eastlake Elementary is a dual immersion school where students are learning to be fluent in both English and Mandarin.

Middle School Principals Receive State Recognition

Congratulations to two of our amazing middle school principals who were recently honored by the Utah Middle Level Association for their hard work and dedication to students.

Fort Herriman Middle School Principal Eric Price was selected as “Outstanding Administrator” for his leadership and actively promoting middle school reform along with effective middle level practices.

West Jordan Middle School Principal Dixie Garrison was named recipient of the “Peggy Lee Rowland Award” for her demonstrated level of service, integrity and leadership in middle level education. Ms. Garrison was also recognized for pursuing opportunities to bring success to middle school students.

The Ron McBride Foundation was recognized for making a significant contribution to middle level education.

Congratulations to the deserving recipients!

Supercast Episode 74: Sparks Fly When Superintendent Visits Welding Class Celebrating CTE Month

Students welding in classFebruary is CTE Month, a time to celebrate the value, achievements and accomplishments of Career and Technical Education programs across the country including right here in Jordan School District. On this episode of the Supercast, Superintendent Anthony Godfrey celebrates CTE month by visiting one of 25 Career and Technical Education classes offered at JATC North and JATC South.

Listen to the sparks fly when Dr. Godfrey gears up and finds out what it takes to learn the art of welding from students in the welding program.

Copper Hills High School Madrigals Selected to Perform Concert for Utah Music Teachers

Group photo of the CHHS MadrigalsIt was a unique opportunity for some very talented students and their teacher at Copper Hills High School. The CHHS madrigals auditioned to perform a full 30-minute concert at the Utah Music Educator Association’s Mid-Winter Conference. The audition was a success and the madrigals were selected to perform the concert. However, due to COVID-19 the conference was held virtually. So, the madrigals, directed by Marc Taylor recorded the concert which was then broadcast to all music teachers in the State of Utah. It was not only fun for students but an honor to perform on a statewide stage.

Congratulations CHHS madrigals on an amazing performance!

Herriman Elementary is Internationally Recognized Professional Learning Community

Picture of Herriman Elementary School TeachersJoin us in congratulating Herriman Elementary School which was recently awarded Model Professional Learning Community (PLC) status by Aaron Hansen, a nationally recognized author who empowers teachers to transform schools.

Herriman Elementary is the first school in Jordan District to be recognized as a Model PLC school and the 13th in the state. Herriman Elementary received this distinct honor in part by showing improved student learning with a positive growth in state and district assessments for three years in a row. Teachers and staff have put a lot of time and effort into successful PLC’s and it is an amazing accomplishment to be recognized internationally.

Congratulations to everyone involved!  Keep up this important work for students and education.